Otaku USA Magazine
Devilman Crybaby Wins Anime of the Year at Crunchyroll Anime Awards

Devilman Crybaby Wins Anime of the Year at Crunchyroll Anime AwardsThe Crunchyroll Anime Awards, an anime awards show hosted by the streaming service of the same name, were held this weekend in San Francisco. The event featured 15 categories, with anime from 2018 chosen by judges (including a few Otaku USA folks) and fans.

Let’s jump in and check out the winners (in bold) from all 15 categories.

Best Animation

My Hero Academia Season 3—BONES
Devilman Crybaby—Science SARU
Bloom into You—Troyca
MEGALOBOX—TMS Entertainment/3xCube
A Place Further Than the Universe—MADHOUSE
Violet Evergarden—Kyoto Animation

Best Opening Sequence

KISS OF DEATH by Mika Nakashima x Hyde—DARLING in the FRANXX
Fighting Gold by Coda—JoJo’s Bizzare Adventure: Golden Wind
Deal with the Devil by Tia—Kakegurui: Compulsive Gambler
Aggretsuko Theme by Miura Jam—Aggretsuko
POP TEAM EPIC by Sumire Uesaka—Pop Team Epic
Fiction by Sumika—Wotakoi: Love is Hard for Otaku

Best Ending Sequence

Star Overhead by the pillows—FLCL Alternative
Fly Me to the Star by Starlight Kukugumi—Revue Starlight
Akatsuki no Requiem by Linked Horizon—Attack on Titan Season 3
Ref:rain by Aimer—After the Rain
Spiky Seeds by the pillows—FLCL Progressive
Kakatte Koi yo by NakamuraEmi—MEGALOBOX

Best Film

Liz and the Blue Bird—Kyoto Animation
My Hero Academia: Two Heroes—BONES
Mazinger Z: Infinity—Toei Animation
Mirai—Studio Chizu
Night is Short, Walk on Girl—Science SARU

Best Character Design

Aggretsuko—Original Designs by Sanrio
Violet Evergarden—Designs by Akiko Takase
MEGALOBOX—Designs by Hiroshi Shimizu
Devilman Crybaby—Designs by Kiyotaka Oshiyama Based on Original Designs by Go Nagai
ZOMBIE LAND SAGA—Designs by Kasumi Fukagawa
JoJo’s Bizzare Adventure: Golden Wind—Designs by Takahiro Kashida Based on Original Designs by Hirohiko Araki

Best Boy

Honda-san—Skull-face Bookseller Honda-san
Sakuta Azusagawa—Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai
Izuku Midoriya—My Hero Academia Season 3

Best Girl

Nadeshiko Kagamihara—Laid-Back Camp
Asirpa—Golden Kamuy
Hinata Miyake—A Place Further Than the Universe
Mai Sakurajima—Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai

Best Voice Actor Performance (Japanese)

Mamoru Miyano as Kotaro Tatsumi—ZOMBIE LAND SAGA
Rareko as Retsuko—Aggretsuko
Megumi Han as Miki Makimura—Devilman Crybaby
Reina Ueda as Akane Shinjo—SSSS.Gridman
Soma Saito as Honda-san—Skull-face Bookseller Honda-san
Nao Toyama as Rin Shima—Laid-Back Camp

Best Voice Actor Performance (English)

Kari Wahlgren as Haruko Haruhara—FLCL Progressive
Christopher Sabat as All Might—My Hero Academia Season 3
Erica Mendez as Retsuko—Aggretsuko
David Wald as the Narrator—Mr. Tonegawa: Middle Management Blues
Tia Ballard as Zero Two—DARLING in the FRANXX
Erika Harlacher as Violet Evergarden—Violet Evergarden

Best Director

Atsuko Ishizuka—A Place Further Than the Universe
Taichi Ishidate—Violet Evergarden
Yohei Suzuki—Planet With
Masaaki Yuasa—Devilman Crybaby
You Moriyama—MEGALOBOX
Hiroko Utsumi—Banana Fish

Best Protagonist

Yumeko Jabami—Kakegurui: Compulsive Gambler
Violet Evergarden—Violet Evergarden
Rimuru Tempest—That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime
Sakuta Azusagawa—Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai

Best Antagonist

Ryo Asuka—Devilman Crybaby
All For One—My Hero Academia Season 3
Momonga—Overlord III
Tokushiro Tsurumi—Golden Kamuy
Akane Shinjo—SSSS.Gridman

Best Fight Scene

Jiren vs. Goku—Dragon Ball Super
All for One vs. All Might—My Hero Academia Season 3
Satan vs. Devilman—Devilman Crybaby
Yami vs. Licht—Black Clover
Naruto & Sasuke vs. Momoshiki—Boruto

Best Continuing Series

The Ancient Magus’ Bride—Wit Studio
Dragon Ball Super—Toei Animation
Black Clover—Pierrot
March comes in like a lion—Shaft
One Piece—Toei Animation

Anime of the Year

Devilman Crybaby—Science SARU
Violet Evergarden—Kyoto Animation
A Place Further Than the Universe—MADHOUSE
MEGALOBOX—TMS Entertainment/3xCube

In addition, Masahiko Minami, the president of studio Bones, won an Industry Icon award.

What do you think of the results?

Source: Crunchyroll

Matt Schley

Matt Schley (rhymes with "guy") lives in Tokyo, and has been OUSA's "man in Japan" since 2012. He's also written about anime and Japanese film for the Japan Times, Screen Daily and more.