Otaku USA Magazine
New Joe Hisaishi Princess Mononoke Album Drops in July

New Joe Hisaishi Princess Mononoke Album Drops in JulySome awesome news out for fans of uber-composer Joe Hisaishi. Hisaishi’s Symphonic Suite “Princess Mononoke” 2021 is set for release in Japan this July.

As the title implies, it’s a “symphonic suite” version of the soundtrack to Hayao Miyazaki’s Princess Mononoke. This version, which features eight movements, has been recorded for the first time.

The album also includes some bonus tracks, such as a version of “Merry-Go-Round,” the main theme from Howl’s Moving Castle. Here’s the full track list:

01. The Legend Of Ashitaka アシタカ記
02. TA TA RI GAMI タタリ神
03. The Journey Of The West ~ Kodamas 旅立ち―西へ― ~ コダマ達
04. The Demon Power ~ The Forest Of The Dear God 呪われた力 ~ シシ神の森
05. Mononoke Hime もののけ姫
06. The World Of The Dead ~ Adagio Of Life & Death 黄泉の世界 ~ 生と死のアダージョ
07. Ashitaka And San アシタカとサン
08. Merry-Go-Round 2019
Asian Works 2020
09. I Will be the wind
10. II Yinglian
11. III Xpark
12. World Dreams 2021

For those who haven’t seen Princess Mononoke (which you should definitely remedy post-haste), here’s the official description:

Inflicted with a deadly curse, a young warrior named Ashitaka sets out to the forests of the west in search of the cure that will save his life. Once there, he becomes inextricably entangled in a bitter battle that matches Lady Eboshi and a proud clan of humans against the forest’s animal gods… who are led by the brave Princess Mononoke, a young woman raised by wolves.

Source: Billboard Japan

Matt Schley

Matt Schley (rhymes with "guy") lives in Tokyo, and has been OUSA's "man in Japan" since 2012. He's also written about anime and Japanese film for the Japan Times, Screen Daily and more.